Please call/email as soon as possible if your child will be absent or arriving late.
Check and Connect
Check and Connect is a program that seeks to build relationships with each individual student while better connecting them to their own success at school. Click here to learn more.
General Attendance Information
Minnesota law states that all students are required to attend school from age 7, or when they enroll in kindergarten (whichever comes first) until they are 18 years old.
School staff are mandated reporters and directed by state statute and MPS policy to report students who are chronically absent. A student’s failure to attend school may lead to legal action for the parents/guardians and the student. It is our goal to work with students and families to promote daily attendance and engage students in learning. MPS has set 95% attendance as the minimum standard.
Elementary students arriving one hour after the start of instruction will be coded as a half-day absent due to the impact of the loss of learning time.
Unexcused absences and those absences not acknowledged by note or telephone call are subject to truancy/attendance procedures. All enrolled children are subject to Minnesota's compulsory attendance laws. Schools are required to notify parents and Hennepin County Juvenile Court when a child is deemed truant.
Please call the number listed to the right to report absences.
What are excused absences?
Students who are ill should be home to rest and recovery, promoting faster recovery and preventing the spread of illness. Students who accumulate ten total absences a year, or six days in a row due to illness, will receive outreach from the school to develop a plan with the school nurse unless a note from your child’s health care provider. Because your child’s health is important to us, school staff can help your child if you do not have health insurance or if you cannot afford to see a health care provider. Please contact your school for any assistance.
Whenever possible, please schedule health care appointments before or after school.
School Bus Problems
If your child misses school because the MPS bus was late or did not show up at the bus stop, you must report this to the school that morning.
Religious Holidays/Cultural Observances
If your child will be gone due to a religious holiday or cultural observance, please notify the school prior.
Students may be gone up to 4 days a year because of a funeral. If your child will be gone more than 4 days, you must get written approval for additional excused time from a principal or social worker.
Students may be gone up to 3 days a year because of a family emergency. If your child will be gone more than 3 days, you must get written approval for additional excused time from a social worker or principal.
A student may be gone up to 5 days from school for a pre-approved family activity. To get pre-approval from the school, you must do the following:
- At least 10 days before leaving, request permission from the school for your child to be gone for a family activity.
- Before leaving, get your child’s homework and agree that your child will finish the homework.
- Make sure that your student will not be gone for important test dates.